Our website uses cookies. By continuing to use our website you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Close this message.

Concert: Sun 21 Nov 2021

Venue:St George's Bristol
Conductors:Tim Harrison
Soloist:Benjamin Baker (Violin)
Start time:19:00


Sibelius: Finlandia
Bruch: Violin Concerto
Dvorák: Slavonic Dance No 8, Opus 46
Elgar: Enigma Variations

For its first concert in St George's after more than a year’s absence, the Orchestra is delighted to welcome back violinist Ben Baker, who has appeared regularly on BBC R3. Described by the New York Times as bringing ‘virtuosity, refinement and youthful exuberance’ to his debut at Merkin Concert Hall he is much sought after as soloist and chamber musician. He joined us twice before to give wonderful performances of the Sibelius and Britten concertos. For this concert, he is performing the famous Bruch concerto – in 1996 voted number one by Classic FM’s listeners.

There’s also Finlandia, so powerful a reminder of the Finns’ struggle for their independence and ranked No.24 in the Classic FM 2021 Hall of Fame. Dvořák's Slavonic Dance No 8 from Opus 46, which brought the composer fame and recognition, begins the second half. The concert ends with a performance of Elgar’s much loved Enigma Variations in which he paints musical pictures of his closest friends. One of the most requested and loved pieces of classical music, it ranks No. 4 in the Classic FM 2021 Hall of Fame.

Future concerts