Our website uses cookies. By continuing to use our website you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Close this message.

Concert: Sun 10 Mar 2019

Venue:St George's Bristol
Conductors:Michael Cobb
Soloist:Benjamin Baker (Violin)
Start time:19:00


Britten: Violin Concerto
Copland: Fanfare for the Common Man
Sibelius: Symphony No. 2
Tower: Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 6

Fanfare for the People.
(This concert begins at 7 PM.) Come and be inspired by music that reflects the human struggle for freedom and justice. Two contrasting fanfares will open the concert, representing the aspirations for equality among different groups. In the Britten violin concerto the New Zealand violinist Benjamin Baker will explore the composer’s struggles with his own demons, where hope glimmers through a deeper sadness. Sibelius referred to his second symphony as a confession for the soul, while many saw the final triumphant movement as an expression of Finland’s hope for independence.