Our website uses cookies. By continuing to use our website you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Close this message.

Concert: Sat 23 Jun 2018

Venue:St George's Bristol
Conductors:Karin Hendrickson
Soloist:Tomáš Klement (Piano)
Start time:19:30


Barber: Second Essay for Orchestra, Opus 17.
Dvorák: Symphony No. 9 "From the New World"
Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue

The Orchestra presents an exciting spectrum of American-influences for their summer concert.  The light-hearted Rhapsody in Blue by George Gershwin, the iconic New World Symphony by Antonin Dvorak, and the resplendent Second Essay for Symphony Orchestra by composer Samuel Barber.  These works shape a balanced programme of commentary on the American musical spirit from 1890’s (New World Symphony - 1893), through to the roaring ‘20s (Rhapsody in Blue - 1924), to the trying times of the Second World War (Second Essay for Orchestra -1942).  Come celebrate the emergence of summertime with this spirit-filled concert at St George's Bristol!

Future concerts