Our website uses cookies. By continuing to use our website you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Close this message.

Concert: Sat 27 May 2017

Venue:Clifton Cathedral
Conductors:Tianyi Lu
Soloist:Tomáš Klement (Piano)
Start time:19:45


Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 3
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5

Join the Orchestra at Clifton Cathedral (off Pembroke Road) for a concert of two iconic works by Beethoven and Tchaikovsky. Come and hear Tomáš Klement perform Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto. Tomáš is one of the finest Czech pianists of his generation. He has performed in venues such as the Royal Albert Hall, Wigmore Hall (London), Avery Fisher Hall (New York), Konserthuset (Stockholm), among others, and his playing has been broadcast on Czech Television and national Czech Radio 3, for which he made several recordings. His honest performance and rich palette of colours have been praised by audiences in many European countries and the USA.  The Concerto was first performed in 1803 with the composer as soloist and playing from memory. The first movement features a strong, recurring theme.   The other work in the concert is Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5. Considered by the composer himself as a failure, it has gone on to become one of his most popular works. Well-crafted, colorful orchestration distinguish the Symphony. Listen out for the solo horn in the second movement.  TICKETS £15, concessions £12.50, (all seats unreserved) are available from Bristol Ticket Office, 0370 44 44 400 or 0117 929 9008.   Note that this concert begins at 7:45 PM