Our website uses cookies. By continuing to use our website you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Close this message.

Concert: Sat 07 Mar 2015

Venue:St George's Bristol
Conductors:Will Goodchild
Soloist:Natalia Lomeiko (Violin)
Start time:19:30


Borodin: In the Steppes of Central Asia
Borodin: Polovtsian Dances
Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4

Renowned Russian violinist Natalia Lomeiko performs Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No.1, composed in 1917, the year of the Revolution and premièred some seven years later in Paris.  At times serene, at others fiery, it proved an immediate success.  These contrasting emotions are reflected equally in Borodin’s two works: the Polovtsian Dances progress from the softly lyrical to frenzied energy and back again; In the Steppes of Central Asia depicts a desert caravan quietly travelling across deserted grassland.  Tchaikovsky’s fourth symphony exposes the turmoil within the composer’s troubled soul in this all-Russian programme.  Pre-Concert Talk 6:30 - 7 PM. There will be a talk about the works being performed given by Jonathan James in the Auditorium.  Entry free to ticket-holders. Refer to the Orchestra's Blog for further details.

Future concerts