Our website uses cookies. By continuing to use our website you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Close this message.

Concert: Sat 20 Jun 2015

Venue:St George's Bristol
Conductors:Will Goodchild
Soloist:Pavel Timofejevsky (Piano)
Start time:19:30


Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique
Bizet: L'Arlésienne Suite No. 1
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G

Pavel Timofejevsky, a multi-talented pianist, composer, conductor and lecturer, joins the orchestra to perform Ravel’s stunning piano concerto.  Works by three very different composers comprise this summer concert, each one epitomising the French music of its day.  We hear Ravel’s lyrical mastery of harmony and counterpoint, Bizet’s gift of melody and orchestration and Berlioz’s unusually orchestrated symphony in five movements with its idée fixe.  This last work tells the story of a young musician poisoned by opium who imagines himself and his beloved at a ball, wandering through the countryside only to confront a nightmare scenario where he has killed her and must go to the gallows.  Pre-Concert Talk 6:30 - 7:00 PM. There will be a talk about the works being performed given by Jonathan James in the Auditorium.  Entry free to ticket-holders. Refer to the Orchestra's Blog for further details.